Liszt – Rhapsodie Espagnole (Spanish Rhapsody) – Sokolov, Piano

Rhapsodie espagnole (Spanish Rhapsody), is a composition for solo piano composed by Franz Liszt in 1858. The piece is very suggestive of traditional Spanish music, and was inspired by Liszt’s tour in Spain and Portugal in 1845. This piece contains many extreme technical challenges, including rapid chords and octaves. Ferruccio Busoni arranged the piece for piano and orchestra in 1894. – Grigory Sokolov

Liszt: Other Rhapsody

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6

Martha Argerich

Martha Argerich plays Franz Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No 6

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2

Khatia Buniatishvili

The pianist Khatia Buniatishvili performs Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No 2 for piano in C-Sharp Minor.